Seventh Heaven

I just bought an electric citrus juicer – The Juiceman. It is, thus far, a nice addition, although one more thing taking space on the kitchen counter is never truly welcome. But I think I’ll have to learn to live with it – and I may have to revisit that last post about how much juice you can expect to get out of a lime. We’ll test that later.

Anyway, grapefruits. Too big for a hand-squeeze juicer. Too big, usually, for a press juicer, or at least for ours (hey, look, it’s got lousy reviews). Juiceman does up a grapefruit real nice. I got a full cup of juice from one grapefruit. At best, I was probably getting little more than half that with a reamer and my bare hands. That doesn’t need to sound dirty, by the way. 

So, with Juiceman at hand, I was ready for a recipe that called for grapefruit juice. I knew I’d seen one or two in Vintage Spirits and Forgotten Cocktails, so it was to there that I turned. The Seventh Heaven fit the bill, calling for…1/4 oz. of grapefruit juice. Oh well. I’ll drink the rest in the morning.

The recipe:

1 3/4 oz. gin

1/2 oz. Maraschino liquor

1/4 oz. grapefruit juice.

Shaker. Ice. Strain. The usual. Garnish with a mint sprig.

Seventh HeavenYou may notice the lack of a mint sprig. A) I didn’t have any fresh mint around. B) I don’t like the flavor of fresh mint. C) Cherries!

And…meh. Whatever I didn’t like about Maraschino way back when…this drink really brings that out. It’s not a question of quantity. The Blue Devil cocktail uses even more, and I loved that. In fact, this drink is a minor variation on both the Blue Devil and the more well-known Aviation, but it’s by far the worst of the three. I think the grapefruit juice doesn’t have enough acidity to offset the sweet aspects of the Maraschino, as lemon juice does. Probably switching the quantities of juice and Maraschino would improve this one, or perhaps even more juice. As is, the grapefruit flavor was negligible; the Maraschino dominated, the gin added a bit of spiciness, but overall there just wasn’t a lot of balance going on here. Generously, three livers. Maybe it’s better with the mint?

Leave a Reply

