The Brandy Cocktail

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago, the Savoy Cocktail Book has a bunch of cocktails that begin their name with the word “brandy.” Inevitably, their main ingredient is brandy. I’m not a huge brandy fan, but duty calls and I will make my way through these. The first is the Brandy Cocktail. It’s hardly a cocktail at all, I would suggest, with only two ingredients, and not very much of one of them.

The Recipe:

3/4 wineglass of brandy (1 1/2 ounces)

2 dashes of curaçao (1/4 tsp.)

Stir well with ice, strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Yeah, that’s it.

Brandy CocktailI may need to get some smaller glasses. Anyway, this one tastes like, uh, brandy. With, maybe, a little hint of orange? I couldn’t really taste it. So, if you like brandy a lot, this one’s for you. I’m pretty indifferent to the stuff. Probably it’s like Scotch, where a $20-30 bottle isn’t so hot, but a $100 bottle is. I have a $20-30 bottle, so it’s probably my fault. In any case, I give it two livers. Again, if you’re a fan of brandy, or have some really good stuff, the Brandy Cocktail may be more up your alley.

 

One thought on “The Brandy Cocktail

  1. Pingback: The Brandy Crusta | propercocktails

Leave a Reply

