The Paradise Cocktail

I first made one of these out of a recipe from Tiki Drinks, illustrated by SHAG, back before I really knew much of anything about making a decent cocktail. The recipes within tend to be overly sweet, with a hefty reliance on sweet and sour and an imbalance between the alcohol and the accompanying juices (when it bothers to call for actual juices) and other sweetening agents. The Paradise Cocktail is the perfect case in point. Tiki Drinks calls for 1 ounce each of gin and apricot brandy and 1.5 ounces of orange juice. While I liked it at the time, I can’t imagine how cloying it would be to me now. Whether this was ever really served as a Tiki drink is unknown; it does not appear in any of Jeff Berry’s comprehensive volumes on that subject, so I tend to doubt it. In any case, I was somewhat surprised to see it in the Savoy, which means it’s not really a Tiki drink at all, but a classic Prohibition-era cocktail. And with a much more balanced recipe:

1/2 gin

1/4 apricot brandy

1/4 orange juice

1 dash lemon juice

(I used 1 1/2 ounces gin and 3/4 ounce of the brandy and OJ)

Shake with ice, strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Paradise

I used my real camera instead of my phone. What a much better picture! I should do that more often. But oh, the convenience.

Anyhoo.

The Paradise tastes mostly of apricots. Dried apricots, really. It’s good, and has a tremendous balance between sweet and tart. If you enjoy dried apricots but lament that you never seem to get drunk off of them, this is the beverage for you. Four livers.

3 thoughts on “The Paradise Cocktail

  1. Pingback: The London Cocktail | propercocktails

  2. Pingback: The Spencer Cocktail | propercocktails

  3. Pingback: The Pendennis Cocktail | propercocktails

Leave a Reply

