The Morning Call cocktail

From 1941’s Here’s How by W. C. Whitfield comes this, another absinthe abomination. I really need to stop wasting absinthe on these things. But, I drink them so you don’t have to. I can’t find much history on this drink, and it doesn’t appear in any of my other bartending guides – but absinthe was banned in the US from 1912 until recently. This doesn’t stop it from appearing often enough in cocktail books, but it does suggest that this drink dates from sometime well before 1941. Or not. Embrace the mystery.

The Recipe:

3/4 oz. absinthe

3/4 oz. lemon juice

3/4 oz. maraschino liqueur

Shake with ice, and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Morning Call

Ugh. First of all, that’s a lot of maraschino. Maraschino is great, don’t get me wrong, but it needs to be used judiciously and works best in small quantities, adding depth and complexity, usually to gin-based cocktails. 3/4 of an ounce of the stuff is almost unheard of. But, that is actually the least of this drink’s problems. It winds up tasting like lemon-licorice candy, which I would challenge you to find, because I expect candy manufacturers have realized that is a lousy combination. To be fair, this was better than I expected, but only because I expected something horrible. The first few sips were tolerable, but it was hard to finish. Two livers. But really, absinthe is amazing. I’ll write about that soon, I promise.

Leave a Reply

