The Savoy Tango

This drink was invented at the Savoy Hotel in London, perhaps by Harry Craddock himself, although the book only specifies that it was “a very great favourite” there. Perhaps tastes have changed, because this thing isn’t very good. In fact, I have yet to find much of anything featuring apple brandy to be especially good.

The Recipe

1/2 Applejack or Calvados (I used the latter)

1/2 sloe gin

Shake with ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Savoy Tango

That’s it. Another violation of the Peggy Olson rule, too. Oh well.

The sloe gin dominates the flavor of the Savoy Tango, with the Calvados providing a rather harsh alcohol bite; whatever apple notes it brings do not get along well with the plummy taste of the sloe gin. It’s not terrible, but it’s definitely a disappointment. I guess my good luck with sloe gin is outweighed by my bad luck with apple brandies. Two livers.

2 thoughts on “The Savoy Tango

Leave a comment